Home | francais  | deutsch  | Legals | KIT

About us

The Institute for Industrial Production (IIP) was established in 1982. It emanated from the then Institute for Manufacturing and Industrial Science and Technical Economics group of the University of Karlsruhe. In 1991 the French-German Institute for Environmental Research (DFIU) was founded, which has closely cooperated with the IIP ever since. After the retirement of Prof. Dr. Otto Rentz, who was the director of the Institute for many years, in 2007, and the head of the Occupational Science group, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Peter Knauth, in 2008, two new chairs were established – namely the Chair of Business Administration, Production and Operations Management and the Chair of Energy Economics. Thus the IIP currently consists of the following:

  • Chair of Business Administration, Production and Operations Management
  • Chair of Energy Economics
  • French-German Institute for Environmental Research (DFIU)

The Chair of Business Administration, Production and Operations Management performs techno-economic analyses of industrial value chains with a focus on risk management, circulatory economic systems, integrated environmental protection measures, production planning and biomass applications.

The Chair of Energy Economics analyses techno-economic questions along the whole energetic value chain, starting with primary energy production through energy conversion and transport, finishing with energy distribution and use.

Characteristic of the activities at the IIP is the interdisciplinary orientation in research and teaching, especially the conjunction of engineering-economic approaches and quantitative methods of operations research and informatics.

The French-German Institute for Environmental Research (DFIU) develops joint solutions for Franco-Germanic research problems in the environmental areas of air, water, land, waste and energy.

Home | francais  | english  | Impressum | KIT

Unser Profil

Das Institut für Industriebetriebslehre und Industrielle Produktion (IIP) ging 1982 aus dem Institut für "Fertigungswirtschaft und Arbeitswissenschaft und der Projektgruppe Technoökonomie" der Universität Karlsruhe (TH) hervor. Im Jahre 1991 wurde das Deutsch-Französische Institut für Umweltforschung (DFIU) gegründet, das seitdem eng mit dem IIP kooperiert. Nach der Pensionierung des langjährigen Institutsleiters Prof. Dr. Otto Rentz und des Leiters des Bereichs Arbeitswissenschaften, Prof. Dr.-Ing Peter Knauth, in den Jahren 2007 und 2008 wurden am IIP zwei neue Lehrstühle etabliert – der Lehrstuhl für Betriebswirtschaftslehre, insbesondere Produktionswirtschaft und Logistik und der Lehrstuhl für Energiewirtschaft. Somit sind am IIP und DFIU mittlerweile folgende Bereiche angesiedelt:

  • Lehrstuhl für Betriebswirtschaftslehre, insbesondere Produktionswirtschaft und Logistik
  • Lehrstuhl für Energiewirtschaft
  • Deutsch-Französisches Institut für Umweltforschung

Am Lehrstuhl für Betriebswirtschaftslehre, insbesondere Produktionswirtschaft und Logistik werden techno-ökonomische Analysen industrieller Wertschöpfungsketten mit Schwerpunkten in den Bereichen Risikomanagement, Kreislaufwirtschaftssysteme, integrierte Umweltschutzmaßnahmen und Biomassenutzung durchgeführt sowie Aufgabenstellungen der Produktionsplanung bearbeitet.

Der Lehrstuhl für Energiewirtschaft analysiert techno-ökonomische Fragestellungen entlang der gesamten energetischen Wertschöpfungskette von der Primärenergiegewinnung über die Energieumwandlung und den Energietransport bis zur Energieverteilung und Energienutzung.

Das Deutsch-Französische Institut für Umweltforschung erarbeitet gemeinsame Lösungen für grenzüberschreitende Probleme in den Bereichen Luft, Wasser, Boden, Abfall und Energie.