flexQgrid: Practice-oriented implementation of the quota-based grid light concept for flexibility in and from the distribution grid

  • contact:

    Dr. Armin Ardone
    Nico Lehmann

  • funding:

    Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy

  • partner:

    9 partners from industry and science: Netze BW GmbH, Entelios AG, PSI Software AG, University of Stuttgart, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), BlockInfinity GmbH, Fichtner IT Consulting GmbH, FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik

    Associated partners: PREdistribuce, a.s.,

  • startdate:

    2019

  • enddate:

    2022

The flexQgrid project aims to make a significant contribution both to the realization of flexibility utilization in the distribution grid and to the provision of flexibility for upstream voltage levels.

In flexQgrid, the approaches developed in the grid-control project (www.project-grid-control.de) for a quota-based grid light concept will be further developed and tested. With an intraday implementation of the quota model and the establishment of secondary trading, further flexibility potential can be used in the distribution grid. However, it is essential that asset operators (private individuals and market participants) are willing to provide flexibility. For this reason, appropriate incentives for providing flexibility are being investigated with the involvement of stakeholders. In addition, the technical framework conditions that have to be considered before and during the implementation of a quota model are also examined. Finally, the compatibility of the quota model with the legal and regulatory framework is examined and adjustment options are elaborated.

The developed solutions will be subjected to a field test. The aim is to use the infrastructure of smart meters like those that are currently being installed in Germany. In addition to battery storage and power generation systems, sector-coupling flexibility options (heat pumps, electric vehicles) and other flexible consumers are to be integrated. In order to ensure a reliable supply of flexibility, the dynamic behavior of these facilities is investigated in simulations and laboratory tests. On the basis of the knowledge gained, recommendations for action are derived and a roadmap with the necessary steps for the use of the quota-based grid light concept is developed.

Within the framework of flexQgrid, the Chair of Energy Economics will investigate the incentives necessary for providing flexibility in the low-voltage grid. The price/quantity combinations on the supply and demand side of flexibility are largely unknown and have to be assessed exemplarily before introducing a quota model. Instruments are developed, e.g. surveys and expert interviews, which make it possible to examine the preferences of flexibility providers and thus quantify the socio-economic constraints. The aim is to achieve reliable and valid results and to include these results in the market simulations. In this way, market behavior can be observed and conclusions can be drawn on the market design.

flexQgrid: Praxisorientierte Implementierung des quotenbasierten Netzampelkonzepts zur Bereitstellung von Flexibilität im Verteilnetz

  • Ansprechpartner:

    Nico Lehmann
    Daniel Sloot
    Dr. Armin Ardone

  • Förderung:

    Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie

  • Partner:

    9 Partner aus Industrie und Wissenschaft: Netze BW GmbH, Entelios AG, PSI Software AG, Universität Stuttgart, Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), BlockInfinity GmbH, Fichtner IT Consulting GmbH, FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik

    Assoziierte Partner: PREdistribuce, a.s.,

  • Starttermin:

    2019

  • Endtermin:

    2022

Das flexQgrid-Projekt soll einen wesentlichen Beitrag sowohl zur Realisierung von Flexibilität im Verteilungsnetz als auch zur Bereitstellung von Flexibilität für vorgelagerte Spannungspegel leisten.

In flexQgrid werden die im Projekt „Grid Control“ (www.project-grid-control.de) entwickelten Ansätze für ein quotenbasiertes Netzampelkonzept weiterentwickelt und getestet. Mit einer Intraday-Implementierung des Quotenmodells und der Einrichtung eines Sekundärhandels kann weiteres Flexibilitätspotenzial im Verteilungsnetz genutzt werden. Dabei ist wichtig, dass Anlagenbesitzer (Privatpersonen und Marktteilnehmer) bereit sind, Flexibilität zu bieten. Aus diesem Grund werden geeignete Anreize für die Bereitstellung von Flexibilität unter Einbeziehung dieser Stakeholder untersucht. Darüber hinaus werden die technischen Rahmenbedingungen untersucht, die vor und während der Umsetzung eines Quotenmodells zu berücksichtigen sind. Schließlich wird die Vereinbarkeit des Quotenmodells mit dem rechtlichen und regulatorischen Rahmen untersucht und Anpassungsoptionen erarbeitet.

Die entwickelten Lösungen werden im Feld getestet. Ziel ist es, die Infrastruktur intelligenter Zähler zu nutzen, wie sie derzeit in Deutschland installiert werden. Neben Batteriespeicher- und Stromerzeugungssystemen sollen auch Flexibilitätsoptionen für die sektorale Kopplung (Wärmepumpen, Elektrofahrzeuge) und andere flexible Verbraucher integriert werden. Um ein flexibles Angebot an Flexibilität zu gewährleisten, wird das dynamische Verhalten dieser Anlagen in Simulationen und Labortests untersucht. Auf der Grundlage der gewonnenen Erkenntnisse werden Handlungsempfehlungen abgeleitet und eine Roadmap mit den notwendigen Schritten für die Anwendung des quotenbasierten Netzampelkonzepts entwickelt.

Im Rahmen von flexQgrid wird der Lehrstuhl für Energiewirtschaft die Anreize untersuchen, die für die Bereitstellung von Flexibilität im Niederspannungsnetz erforderlich sind. Die Preis-Mengen-Kombinationen auf der Angebots- und Nachfrageseite der Flexibilität sind weitgehend unbekannt und müssen vor Einführung eines Quotenmodells beispielhaft erhoben werden. Dafür werden Instrumente entwickelt, z.B. Umfragen und Experteninterviews, die es ermöglichen, die Präferenzen von Flexibilitätsanbietern zu ermitteln und so die sozioökonomischen Randbedingungen zu quantifizieren. Ziel ist es, verlässliche und valide Ergebnisse zu erzielen und diese Ergebnisse in die Marktsimulationen einzubeziehen. Auf diese Weise können das Marktverhalten beobachtet und Rückschlüsse auf das Marktdesign gezogen werden.