Home | francais  | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Think Tank "Industrielle Ressourcenstrategien" / "Industrial Resource Strategies"

Think Tank "Industrielle Ressourcenstrategien" / "Industrial Resource Strategies"
contact:

Prof. Dr. Frank Schultmann

Dr.-Ing. Rebekka Volk

Dr.-Ing Simon Glöser

startdate:

01/2018

enddate:

12/2021

The Baden-Württemberg Council of Ministers has set up a think tank for "Industrial Resource Strategies". "The think tank, which is unique in Germany, is intended to provide impulses in questions of raw materials and resource efficiency, to point out potential solutions and to recognize trends. He advises politics and industry on a scientific basis and is to a certain extent a pilot into the future, "says Prime Minister Winfried Kretschmann.

The think-tank should drive the efficient use of resources in production: "For Baden-Württemberg as a resource-poor country with a high proportion of industrial value added, the sparing use of raw materials and the recovery of resources from waste is an environmental and economic-strategic key issue", said Minister for Environmental Affairs Franz Untersteller. For this reason, ideas and concepts are to emerge that make the business location of Baden-Württemberg more flexible and independent of raw material imports and geopolitical crises. "Our companies thus have more influence on the largest cost factor in the production process, the material costs," said Untersteller.

The project is located at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). The Institute for Industrial Production (IIP) will focus on the circular economy and resource efficiency throughout the value chain. Above all, the circular economy is to be conceived and analyzed holistically in order to achieve a more efficient selection of materials, higher collection and recycling rates and a reduction in the use of resources. This will be achieved through system analysis, user integration and acceptance, assessment and advice on financial incentive systems, operational process optimization, decision support methods and new business models. Furthermore, the effects of major technical and social trends and transformation processes with their effects on resource requirements, efficiency and utilization will be examined.

Initially, the think tank "Industrial Resource Strategies" is set to run for four years. He is financed by the state of Baden-Württemberg and the following participating companies and associations so far: AUDI AG, Badische Stahlwerke GmbH, Carl Zeiss AG, Daimler AG, Robert Bosch GmbH, Scholz Recycling GmbH, SchwörerHaus KG, Umicore AG & Co. KG, Association of the Chemical Industry e.V. Landesverband Baden-Württemberg, Zeller + Gmelin GmbH & Co. KG. If you are interested in participating, feel free to contact us.

Further information:

Press release of the Ministerium für Umwelt, Klima und Energiewirtschaft Baden-Württemberg 

Press release of KIT 

KIT.audio: The Research Podcast, about the Think Tank "Industrial Resource Strategies (only in German)

Home | francais  | english  | Impressum | KIT

Think Tank "Industrielle Ressourcenstrategien"

Think Tank "Industrielle Ressourcenstrategien"
Ansprechpartner:

Prof. Dr. Frank Schultmann

Dr.-Ing. Rebekka Volk

Dr.-Ing Simon Glöser

Förderung:

Land Baden-Württemberg

Industrieunternehmen aus Baden-Württemberg

Starttermin:

01/2018

Endtermin:

12/2021

Der baden-württembergische Ministerrat hat einen Think-Tank für „Industrielle Ressourcenstrategien“ eingerichtet. „Der deutschlandweit einzigartige Think Tank soll Impulse in Rohstoff- und Ressourceneffizienzfragen geben, Wege aufzeigen und Trends erkennen. Er berät Politik und Wirtschaft auf wissenschaftlicher Basis und soll gewissermaßen ein Lotse in die Zukunft sein“, sagt Ministerpräsident Winfried Kretschmann.

Der Think-Tank soll den effizienten Umgang mit Ressourcen in der Produktion antreiben: „Für Baden-Württemberg als rohstoffarmes Land mit einem hohen Anteil industrieller Wertschöpfung ist der sparsame Umgang mit Rohstoffen und die Rückgewinnung von Ressourcen aus Abfällen eine umwelt- und wirtschaftsstrategische Kernfrage“, so Umweltminister Franz Untersteller. Deshalb sollen Ideen und Konzepte entstehen, die den Wirtschaftsstandort Baden-Württemberg flexibler und unabhängiger von Rohstoffimporten sowie geopolitischen Krisen machen. „Unsere Unternehmen bekommen damit mehr Einfluss auf den größten Kostenfaktor im Produktionsprozess, die Materialkosten“, so Untersteller. Verortet ist das Projekt am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT).

Das Institut für Industriebetriebslehre und Industrielle Produktion (IIP) wird sich vorrangig mit dem Themenfeld Kreislaufwirtschaft und Ressourceneffizienz in der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette befassen. Dabei soll vor allem die Kreislaufwirtschaft ganzheitlich gedacht und analysiert werden, um eine effizientere Materialwahl, höhere Sammel- und Verwertungsquoten und eine Reduktion des Ressourceneinsatzes zu erreichen. Dies soll mit Systemanalysen, Nutzerintegration und -akzeptanz, Bewertung und Beratung hinsichtlich finanzieller Anreizsysteme, operationaler Prozessoptimierung, Entscheidungsunterstützungsmethoden und neuen Geschäftsmodellen erreicht werden. Weiterhin sollen die Auswirkungen großer technischer und gesellschaftlicher Trends und Transformationsprozesse mit ihren Auswirkungen auf den Ressourcenbedarf, -effizienz und -inanspruchnahme untersucht werden.

Angelegt ist der Think-Tank „Industrielle Ressourcenstrategien“ zunächst auf eine Laufzeit von vier Jahren. Finanziert wird er vom Land Baden-Württemberg und der Industrie. Folgende Unternehmen und Verbände sind bisher beteiligt: AUDI AG, Badische Stahlwerke GmbH, Carl Zeiss AG, Daimler AG, Robert Bosch GmbH, Scholz Recycling GmbH, SchwörerHaus KG, Umicore AG & Co. KG, Verband der Chemischen Industrie e.V. Landesverband Baden-Württemberg, Zeller+Gmelin GmbH & Co. KG. Bei Interesse zur Teilnahme, nehmen Sie gerne Kontakt mit uns auf.


Weitere Informationen:

Pressemeldung des Ministerium für Umwelt, Klima und Energiewirtschaft Baden-Württemberg 

Pressemeldung des KIT 

Informationsflyer