Institute for Industrial Production (IIP)

Flagship Project Circular Economy for Plastics

Background

Worldwide, the production of plastics is increasing and with that the dependence on crude oil and secondary plastics. The amount of plastic waste has also increased in recent years - in Germany, especially in the packaging sector. The German recycling figures remain at a constantly low level.

In contrast, there have been considerable changes in the market for plastic waste: Changed import regulations in China influence the price, supply and demand structure, and Germany and the EU are calling for further steps towards a circular economy by tightening the political framework conditions. This is reflected in an increase in recycling quotas for plastic packaging.

The establishment of a closed-loop economy for plastics offers the opportunity to improve competitiveness and resource efficiency. The finite nature of primary raw materials is countered and a reduction in energy consumption contributes to climate protection.

 

Objective

The aim of the project is to map the German plastics cycle in its current status and dynamics. The focus is on the waste fraction of light packaging and the standard thermoplastics used there, as well as the automotive sector with its technical plastics.

Current political framework conditions and potential changes will be examined and the resulting options for action and effects will be mapped in the system. In particular, the options for action avoidance, material recovery (increase in the recycling quota through improved sorting) and raw material recovery (use of currently unused plastic waste fractions as chemical raw materials including potential assessment) are to be investigated. The different recycling paths will be assessed and compared using techno-economic and ecological indicators.

On the basis of the planned national model for Germany, the following desired effects of options for action should be investigated: (1) the reduction of the use of fossil raw materials, (2) the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions, and (3) economic advantages compared to the current status quo.

 

Project Partners

The project is based in the THINKTANK Industrial Resource Strategies at KIT, which was established by the state government of Baden-Württemberg in cooperation with industry and science. Its focus is the holistic view on technological-strategic questions of resource efficiency, resource use, and resource policy.

The assessment of chemical recycling options is performed in cooperation with the Institute of Technical Chemistry (ITC) at KIT. At the ITC, the selected material flows are investigated, experiments are performed on chemical recycling options, and thus the technical feasibility is demonstrated.

Audi and Volkswagen OTLG support the subproject "Chemical recycling of plastics from automotive engineering" by providing plastic components that are no longer needed and also data for the assessment.

 

audimediacenter-a.akamaihd.net/system/productio... Volkswagen Original Teile Logistik – Wikipedia

Institut für Industriebetriebslehre und Industrielle Produktion (IIP)

Leuchtturmprojekt Kreislauf für Kunststoffe

Hintergrund

Weltweit steigt die Produktionszahlen für Kunststoffe und damit auch die Abhängigkeit von dem fossilen Primärrohstoff Rohöl und Sekundärkunststoffen. Die Menge an Kunststoffabfällen ist in den letzten Jahren ebenfalls stark gestiegen – in Deutschland insbesondere im Verpackungsbereich. Die deutschen Recyclingzahlen bleiben dabei auf einem konstant niedrigen Niveau.

Demgegenüber stehen erhebliche Veränderungen im Markt für Kunststoffabfälle: Veränderte Einfuhrbestimmungen in China beeinflussen Preis-, Angebots- und Nachfragestruktur und Deutschland und die EU fordern weitere Schritte in Richtung einer Kreislaufwirtschaft durch die Verschärfung von politischen Rahmenbedingungen. Die Verschärfung spiegelt sich insbesondere in einer Erhöhung der Recyclingquoten für Kunststoffverpackungen wieder.

Das Etablieren einer Kreislaufwirtschaft bei Kunststoffen bietet die Möglichkeit Wettbewerbsfähigkeit und Ressourceneffizienz zu verbessern. Der Endlichkeit der Primärrohstoffe wird begegnet und durch eine Reduzierung des Energieverbrauchs wird zum Klimaschutz beigetragen.

Zielsetzung

Ziel des Projektes ist es, den deutschen Kunststoffkreislauf im aktuellen Status und in seiner Dynamik abzubilden. Dabei wird der Fokus auf die Abfallfraktion der Leichtverpackungen und den dort verwendeten Standardthermoplasten, sowie den Automobilbereich mit dessen technischen Kunststoffen gelegt.

Aktuelle politische Rahmenbedingungen und potenzielle Änderungen sollen untersucht und daraus resultieren Handlungsoptionen und Wirkungen im System abgebildet werden. Insbesondere sollen die Handlungsoptionen Vermeidung, Werkstoffliche Verwertung (Erhöhung der Recyclingquote durch verbesserte Sortierung) und Rohstoffliche Verwertung (Einsatz derzeit nicht verwendeter Kunststoffabfallfraktionen als chemische Rohstoffe inkl. Potenzialermittlung) untersucht werden. Die verschiedenen Verwertungspfade sollen anhand techno-ökonomischer und ökologischer Indikatoren bilanziert und verglichen werden.

Anhand des geplanten nationalen Modells für Deutschland sollen die folgenden gewünschten Wirkungen von Handlungsoptionen untersucht werden können: (1) die Reduktion des Einsatzes fossiler Rohstoffe, (2) die Reduktion von Treibhausgasemissionen und (3) ökonomische Vorteilhaftigkeit gegenüber dem aktuellen Stand.

Projektpartner

Das Projekt ist im THINKTANK Industrielle Ressourcenstrategien aufgehangen, der durch die baden-württembergische Landesregierung mit der Industrie und mit Unterstützung der Wissenschaft am KIT eingerichtet wurde. Der Fokus ist der ganzheitliche Blick auf technologisch-strategischen Fragestellungen zu Ressourceneffizienz, Ressourcennutzung und Ressourcenpolitik.

Die Bilanzierung der rohstofflichen Verwertung und des chemischen Recyclings erfolgt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Technische Chemie (ITC) des KIT. Am ITC werden die ausgewählten Materialströme untersucht, Versuche hinsichtlich chemischer Recyclingmöglichkeiten unternommen und damit die technische Machbarkeit nachgewiesen.

Audi und die Volkswagen OTLG unterstützen in dem Teilprojekt „Chemisches Recycling von Kunststoffen aus dem Automobilbau“ durch die Bereitstellung von nicht mehr benötigten Kunststoff-Bauteilen und Daten zur Bilanzierung.

audimediacenter-a.akamaihd.net/system/productio... Volkswagen Original Teile Logistik – Wikipedia